Participants at the BME-IDEA-APAC Annual Summit 2018 

BME-IDEA APAC: A Step Towards a Global BME-IDEA Community

BME-IDEA (BioMedical Engineering: Innovation, Design, and Entrepreneurship Alliance) started as a community of biomedical innovation programs in the U.S. nearly 15 years ago. In 2013, BME-IDEA Europe brought together European biomedical innovation programs. Increasingly, these regions are interested in engaging with innovators in Asia Pacific region in individual capacity, exchanging students and researchers and collaborating on projects. Similarly, the Asia Pacific programs may benefit from access to a global network of innovators. We started BME-IDEA APAC with our inaugural conference in 2016. In a rapidly changing healthcare environment worldwide, one-way flow of innovation (forward or reverse innovation) is giving way to “reciprocal innovation”, allowing innovators everywhere to contribute to global solutions with unique regional flavors. Indeed, a successful BME-IDEA APAC is an enabling and necessary next step towards a vibrant global BME-IDEA community.

Steering Committee

Each of the leaders and organizations represented here have made a substantial start in creating meaningful and exciting programs in the emerging discipline of biomedical technology innovation. It is their strong belief that a sharing of information between groups, networking among faculty and industry experts, and a thoughtful consideration of the possibilities for further collaboration in the APAC region – and around the world—are both timely and critically important.  

Prof. Paul Yock, Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Prof. Tan Sze Wee, Singapore Biodesign, A*STAR

Prof. Balram Bhargava, School of International Biodesign, AIIMS

Prof. Yoshiki Sawa, Japan Biodesign, Osaka University

Ms. Harjit Gill, CEO, Asia-Pacific Medical Technology Association (APACMed)

Organizing Committee

Dr. Anurag Mairal, Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Dr. Masakazu Yagi, Japan Biodesign, Osaka University

Dr. Yujiro Maeda, Japan Biodesign, Tokyo University

Dr. Atsuhiro Nakagawa, Japan Biodesign, Tohoku University

Ms. Ritu Kamal, Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Ms. Lyn Denend, Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Dr. Renu John, IIT Hyderabad

Dr. Matthew Oldakowski, Perth Biodesign, Curtin University

Dr. Tien-Jen Liu, Taiwan Biodesign, Tapei Medical University

Mr. Pushkar Ingale, Cohesive Labs

Mr. Ming-Chien Huang, Singapore Biodesign, A*STAR

Join Us

Interested in becoming a member of BME-IDEA APAC?